DUO ERATO    Musings

DUO ERATO (Martha Masters & Risa Carlson) Musings CD $19.95


  This Duo just played for the South Bay Guitar Society on April 1st, 2006, and the crowd just loved them. The display of dynamics by both performers were everyone’s dream-so much musicianship flowing into one's ears. Martha was just 5 weeks away from giving birth to her 2nd child. They have played together since 1992.


  They play the works of Petit, Franck, Albeniz, Sor, Pasquini and Padowetz.

  The titles are listed below

The selections are:


1 Toccata (P. Petit)

2 Prelude (C. Franck)

3 Lento (C. Franck)

4 Fugue (C. Franck)

5 Variation (C. Franck)

6 Concert Variations ...Venice (J. Padowetz)

7 Evocacion (I. Albeniz)

8 El Puerto (I. Albeniz)

9 Cantabile (F. Sor)

10 Theme (F. Sor)

11 Variation 1 (F. Sor)

12 Variation 2 (F. Sor)

13 Variation 3 (F. Sor)

14 Valse (F. Sor)

15 Mi Guajirita (E. Cordero)

16 Cancion Azul (E. Cordero)

17 Salsa en Pinones (E. Cordero)

18 Allegro (B. Pasquini)

19 Adagio (B. Pasquini)

20 Vivace (B. Pasquini)


 "I always appreciate a compact disc that has been engineered with the intention of being experienced in its entirety. In the past I have criticized this or that recording for the cloying way in which a specific genre of composition is hashed out ad nauseam for seventy or so minutes. It soon became apparent upon listening to Duo Erato's disc "Musings" that they had carefully selected and ordered their repertoire with the listener's enjoyment in mind. All of the pieces, and I do mean every single one, from the quirky Toccata by Pierre Petit to the rigidly Baroque Sonata by Bernardo Pasquini, share the unique quality of being both readily accessible to the casual listener yet still engaging to the learned guitarist. This coupled with the unprecedented degree of compositional diversity that this CD offers could only have been the result of thoughtful reflection on the part of Duo Erato. Not unexpectedly, the playing is exquisite, as guitarists Martha Masters and Risa Carlson shift gracefully between Baroque, Classical, Romantic, and Contemporary compositions. This recording showcases fine architecture and flawless execution, making for a pleasurable listen from beginning to end."

Timothy Smit, Minor7th.com


   "If gentle elegance is the foam on your cappuccino, this debut CD by classical guitar duo Risa Carlson and Martha Masters is for you. The interplay of the two guitars is seamless. This CD is a worthy addition to any serious guitarist's collection, and makes a good listen for an evening by the fire."

Wendy Joseph, Victory Review


  "This is their first recording and it is a fine one. They play with extraordinarry precision of ensemble and with an interpretive sophistication and refinement that reminds me of Master's solo playing. The production is first rate... a very natural guitar sound."

Rings, American Record Guide


"...together they (Risa Carlson and Martha Masters) make a most impressive duo; their phrasing, tight ensemble and first-rate mujsicianship shines through the whole of this recording making for a most pleasurable hour's listening. 'Musings' is a most satisfying CD from every aspect: playing, musicality, programming and recording quality. Recommended."

Steve Marsh, Classical Guitar Magazine


[FFSI] [Search the Site] [About us] [Order Form] [Instruments For Sale] [Books For Sale] [Golden Era CDs For Sale] [CDs For Sale] [Eliot Fisk 18 Sonatas] [Stefano Grondona] [Agustin Barrios CD Page] [Barrios' Greatest Hits #1] [Rico Stover] [Southern Journey] [Agustin Barrios] [Miguel Llobet Recordings] [Paco Peña] [Frank Wallace] [Abel Carlevaro] [David Tanenbaum] [Soul of Spain] [Anthony Arizaga] [Mariano Cordoba] [Julio Martinez Oyanguren] [Guillermo Gomez] [Luise Walker] [Maria Luisa Anido] [Vicente Gomez] [Llobet & Anido] [Adam Del Monte] [Angelo Favis] [Tom Leisek] [Carlos Garcia Tolsa CD] [Concierto de Aranjuez] [Andrew York's Into Dark] [Oscar Herro's Hechizo] [Fur Eliot] [Philip Hii] [József Eötvös] [Francisco Salinas] [The Art of Paco Peña] [Misa Flamenca] [Arte y Pasion] [Julio Martinez Oyanguren Vol. 2] [Marco Pereira] [Minneapolis Guitar Quartet] [Philip Hii    Chopin Nocturnes] [Regino Sainz de la Maza] [Juan Martin Camino Latino] [Natsu no Omoide] [Carlos Barbosa-Lima    Frenesi] [Stefano Grondona Plays Julian Arcas] [The Guitar of Andres Segovia] [Fuga y Misterio] [ASSAD BROTHERS, Sergio and Odair] [A VERY SPECIAL ALBUM] [Rodrigo and Castelnuovo-Tedesco] [NATSU NO NIWA] [BEST of CLASSICAL GUITAR Vol. 3] [Best of Classical Guitar Vol. 4] [Segovia Complete Bach] [Segovia Baroque Recordings] [Andrés Segovia Rare Recordings] [Roland Dyens  Citrons Doux] [Andrés Segovia Golden Years] [Badi Assad Danca Das Ondas] [Raphaella Smits 20th Century] [Raphaella Smits JIMENEZ MANJON] [Raphaella Smits  19th Century] [Raphaella Smits  Baroque Guitar] [Raphaella Smits  Sor and Coste] [Raphaella Smits  Romantic Guitar] [Aliéksey Vianna] [Rey de la Torre 2 CDs and DVD] [Xuefei Yang   Si Ji] [Brindis de Guitarras in Homage to Falla] [The Rodrigo Collection] [DUO ERATO    Musings] [RAPHAEL RABELLO] [Music Sheets (A-B) For Sale] [Sheet Music Books] [Querico Publications] [Videos For Sale] [DVDs For Sale] [Golden Era DVD Collection] [Golden Era Videos For Sale] [Los Maestros] [Annotations Book] [Americana For Sale] [Accessories For Sale] [Services 2003] [Links 2003] [How & Why of Languages]