Agustin Barrios

Agustin Barrios 3 CD set The Complete Guitar Recordings 1913-1942 $46.95

   This extraordinary 3 CD set has just recently been digitally remastered, and should not be confused with the earlier edition that was released in the early 1990's.  2/29/04

   I just got in the remastered Barrios 3 CD set by Chanterelle. I told Rico Stover on the phone today "All of the in your face scratch sound has been removed, the recordings from 1913 are a real joy to listen to". 3/20/04

   This wonderful triple CD set has 59 songs by the South American master, sometimes called the "Paganini of Paraguay". The works within are Barrios's originals (2 complete CDs-40 pieces) and transcriptions of European and South American composers, from Bach, Beethoven, Sor and Tarrega to Carlos Garcia Tolsa and Gustavo Sosa Escalada (1 CD-19 pieces).

For the rare "Habanera" from 1924 not included in this CD set see:
G.E. 10 Latin American Guitar Virtuosos Complete your collection of Agustin Barrios.

Golden Era 60 Agustin Barrios Recently Discovered Recordings 1913-28 
CD $17.00
    On March 31, 1913 Alfredo Amendola's Discos Atlanta opened
their doors for sales to the public in Buenos Aires. The songs
Mandolinata Napolitana and Ojos Negros are Agustin Barrios'
second disc to be released and Isabel was recorded close to the end
of the 1914 recording sessions.
   These three recordings are a debut in the CD format.
These are not included in the 3 CD set
Agustin Barrios 1913-43

All titles are listed below:


The selections for CD #1 are:

  1. Tango No. 2
  2. Don Perez Freire
  3. Pepita
  4. Aire de Zamba [1st rec.]
  5. Danza Paraguaya
  6. Cueca
  7. Romanza
  8. Maxixe
  9. Aconquija
  10. Madrigal
  11. Contemplación
  12. Pericón,
  13. Confesión
  14. Un Sueño en la Floresta
  15. Vals No. 3
  16. La Catedral
  17. Oracion
  18. Vals No. 4
  19. Armonías de América
  20. Invocación a mi madre
  • The selections for CD #2 are:
    1. Divagación
    2. La Bananita
    3. Aires Andaluces
    4. Aires Criollos
    5. Minueto
    6. Córdoba
    7. Sarita [1st rec.]
    8. Luz Mala
    9. Mazurca
    10. Sarita [ 2nd rec.]
    11. Junto a tu corazón
    12. Aire de Zamba [2nd rec.]
    13. Invocación a la luna [incomplete]
    14. Sueño de la muñequita
    15. Diana Guaraní [Diana Paraguaya]
    16. [Unidentified] & Voice of Barrios.
  • The selections for CD #3 are:
    1. Franz Lehar: Oro y Plata
    2. O. Perez Freire: Ay Ay Ay [1st rec.]
    3. [F. S. de?] Dupuy: Marcha Paraguaya
    4. S. Yradier: La Paloma
    5. C. Garcia Tolsa: Matilde (mazurka)
    6. C. Garcia Tolsa: Divagación Chopiniana
    7. G. Sosa Escalada: Madrigal
    8. C. A. Silva: Marcha de San Lorenzo
    9. L. A. Conceiçao: Tarantella [1st rec.]
    10. L. von Beethoven: Minueto [1st rec.]
    11. F. Tarrega: Capricho árabe [1st rec.]
    12. F. Tarrega: Capricho árabe [2nd rec.]
    13. L. von Beethoven: Minuet [2nd rec.]
    14. J. S. Bach: Loure
    15. [Unknown]. [arr.] Barrios: Aire Popular Paraguayo
    16. Robert Schumann: Traümerei
    17. L. A. Conceiçao: Tarantella [2nd rec.]
    18. F. Sor: Minueto (op. 11, no.6)
    19. O. Perez Freire: Ay, Ay [2nd rec.].

      Barrios: The Arrangements 52 pages 14 pieces $31.95
    20.   This volume brings together for the first time in one volume Chris Dumigan's transcriptions of all the currently existing recordings that Barrios made of other composer's works whether they were originally written for guitar or not. This currently consists of 14 different compositions, four recorded twice in widely differing versions, for which reason they are both included here. Composers represented include Tarrega, Sor, Bach, Beethoven, Schumann, Freire, Tolsa, Yradier, Silva, Escalado, Dupuy and Lehar.
    21. A must for all Barrios afficionados.
    22. Grade 6-8

    [FFSI] [Search the Site] [About us] [Order Form] [Instruments For Sale] [Books For Sale] [Golden Era CDs For Sale] [CDs For Sale] [Eliot Fisk 18 Sonatas] [Stefano Grondona] [Agustin Barrios CD Page] [Barrios' Greatest Hits #1] [Rico Stover] [Southern Journey] [Agustin Barrios] [Miguel Llobet Recordings] [Paco Peña] [Frank Wallace] [Abel Carlevaro] [David Tanenbaum] [Soul of Spain] [Anthony Arizaga] [Mariano Cordoba] [Julio Martinez Oyanguren] [Guillermo Gomez] [Luise Walker] [Maria Luisa Anido] [Vicente Gomez] [Llobet & Anido] [Adam Del Monte] [Angelo Favis] [Tom Leisek] [Carlos Garcia Tolsa CD] [Concierto de Aranjuez] [Andrew York's Into Dark] [Oscar Herro's Hechizo] [Fur Eliot] [Philip Hii] [József Eötvös] [Francisco Salinas] [The Art of Paco Peña] [Misa Flamenca] [Arte y Pasion] [Julio Martinez Oyanguren Vol. 2] [Marco Pereira] [Minneapolis Guitar Quartet] [Philip Hii    Chopin Nocturnes] [Regino Sainz de la Maza] [Juan Martin Camino Latino] [Natsu no Omoide] [Carlos Barbosa-Lima    Frenesi] [Stefano Grondona Plays Julian Arcas] [The Guitar of Andres Segovia] [Fuga y Misterio] [ASSAD BROTHERS, Sergio and Odair] [A VERY SPECIAL ALBUM] [Rodrigo and Castelnuovo-Tedesco] [NATSU NO NIWA] [BEST of CLASSICAL GUITAR Vol. 3] [Best of Classical Guitar Vol. 4] [Segovia Complete Bach] [Segovia Baroque Recordings] [Andrés Segovia Rare Recordings] [Roland Dyens  Citrons Doux] [Andrés Segovia Golden Years] [Badi Assad Danca Das Ondas] [Raphaella Smits 20th Century] [Raphaella Smits JIMENEZ MANJON] [Raphaella Smits  19th Century] [Raphaella Smits  Baroque Guitar] [Raphaella Smits  Sor and Coste] [Raphaella Smits  Romantic Guitar] [Aliéksey Vianna] [Rey de la Torre 2 CDs and DVD] [Xuefei Yang   Si Ji] [Brindis de Guitarras in Homage to Falla] [The Rodrigo Collection] [DUO ERATO    Musings] [RAPHAEL RABELLO] [Music Sheets (A-B) For Sale] [Sheet Music Books] [Querico Publications] [Videos For Sale] [DVDs For Sale] [Golden Era DVD Collection] [Golden Era Videos For Sale] [Los Maestros] [Annotations Book] [Americana For Sale] [Accessories For Sale] [Services 2003] [Links 2003] [How & Why of Languages]