G. E. 59
G. E.  59 Julio J. Otermin & Trio de Guitarras de Uruguay 1912 CD $17.00
    Julio J. Otermin was a professor and composer of guitar music. He
resides in Montevideo, Uruguay. In 1906 he studied with the Spanish
guitar professor Pedro Maza, then at the time, also residing in the
same capital. He has two works published, "Un Sueño" and "Perlas de
Uruguay", the latter, which obtained the Primer Premio-Certamen
España- Celebrado en Montevideo (First Prize-Spanish Composition
Competition-Celebrated in Montevideo). Both of the compositions are
Boston waltzes, of a well achieved movement and and relative musical
   This short biography is translated from the "Diccionario de
Guitarristas" by Domingo Prat, published in 1934 by Romero y Fernandez.
   Both of the musical compositions mentioned by Domingo Prat were listed
in the 1931 Antigua Casa Nuñez catalog.
   In Richard "Rico" Stover's "Six Silver Moonbeams-The Life and Times
of Agustin Barrios Mangoré" on page 43, he mentions a concert in the
fall (March, April, May) of 1912 organized by Carlos Trapani, where
Agustin Barrios as well as Julio Otermin and the Spanish guitarist
Francisco Calleja performed in Montevideo. In listening to original works by
Otermin such as "Nocturno" it is easy to make note of the concert
level composition of his creative ability.
   There is nothing well known about the other two members of the Trio de
Guitarras de Uruguay: Carlos M. Quintana and Anastasio Méndez. In that
Julio J. Otermin was a professor, it may be considered that they were
advanced students of his, until further verification may be found.
They undeniably created a very lively and popular sound at the
beginning of the World War I (The Great War) period of time.
   This is an update written on January 29, 2010. This CD was released in
the summer of 2005, the record dealer I purchased these discs from thought
they were made between 1915-1919.
The earliest of these recordings were made on January 23, 1912 by the
Trío de Guitarras de Uruguay and Julio J. Otermin's 18 solos on February 1
and 2, 1912.

     Julio J. Otermin's 18 guitar solos were recorded some 14 months before
the release of the 1st recordings by Agustin Barrios on March 31, 1913. This
now corrects the perception that Barrios was the 1st guitarist to extensively
record including Julio's recordings of the Minuet in Do and the Adagio and
Allegro from Fernando Sor's Op. 25 Second Grand Sonata.

This information is from: The Encyclopedic Discography of Victor 
Recordings (EDVR) website. The database is edited by a team of researchers based
at the University of California, Santa Barbara Libraries.
The selections are listed below:
The selections are:
                    1. El Cosquilloso Trio de Guitarras de Uruguay  Victor 65391 1/23/1912
2. Gato Julio J. Otermin Victor 65391 February 1, 1912
3. Princesa (Tango) (Carlos M. Quintana) - Trio de Guitarras de Uruguay
(Julio Otermin - Carlos M. Quintana - Anastasio Méndez)  Victor 65604 1/23/1912
4. Mazurka Gaucha (Carlos M. Quintana) - Trio de Guitarras de Uruguay Victor 65484 1/23/1912
5. Nocturno (Otermin) - Julio J. Otermin (Solo de Guitarra)  Victor 65609 February 2, 1912
6. Preludio en mi Menor (Otermin) - Julio J. Otermin Victor 65609 February 2, 1912
7. Prevencion (Paso Doble) (Carlos M. Quintana) - Trio de Guitarras de Uruguay Victor 65607 1/23/1912
8. Si o No? (Habanera) (Otermin) - Julio J. Otermin Victor 65607 February 1, 1912
9. Qué Barbaridad! (Tango) (Julio J. Otermin) Victor 63714 February 1, 1912
10. El Chacarero (Tango) (Carlos M. Quintana) - Trio de Guitarras de Uruguay Victor 63715 1/23/1912
11. Estilo y Relacion (Julio Otermin) - Julio J. Otermin Victor 63715 February 1, 1912
12. Olimar (Tango) (Carlos M. Quintana) - Trio de Guitarras de Uruguay Victor 63725 1/23/1912
13. Vidalita (Julio Otermin) - Julio J. Otermin Victor 63725 February 1, 1912
14. Gagancha (Tango) (Carlos M. Quintana) - Trio Guitarras de Uruguay Victor 63735 1/23/1912
15. En el Rancho (Pericon) (Julio Otermin) Victor 63735 February 1, 1912
16. Mi Nena (Tango) (Julio J. Otermin) - Julio J. Otermin Victor 63736 February 1, 1912

[FFSI] [Search the Site] [About us] [Order Form] [Instruments For Sale] [Books For Sale] [Golden Era CDs For Sale] [G. E. 1] [G. E. 2] [G. E. 3] [G. E. 4] [G. E. 5] [G. E. 6] [G. E. 7] [G. E. 8] [G. E. 9] [G. E. 10] [G. E. 11] [G. E. 12] [G. E. 13] [G. E. 14] [G. E. 15] [G. E. 16] [G. E. 17] [G. E. 18] [G. E. 19] [G. E. 20] [G. E. 21] [G. E. 22] [G. E. 23] [G. E. 24] [G. E. 25] [G. E. 26] [G. E. 27] [G. E. 28] [G. E. 29] [G. E. 30] [G. E. 31] [G. E. 32] [G. E. 33] [G. E. 34] [G. E. 35] [G. E. 36] [G. E. 37] [G. E. 38] [G. E. 39] [G. E. 40] [G. E. 41] [G. E. 42] [G.E. 43] [G. E. 44] [G. E. 45] [G. E. 46] [G. E. 47] [G. E. 48] [G. E. 49] [G. E. 50] [G. E. 51] [G. E. 52] [G. E. 53] [G. E. 54] [G. E. 55] [G. E. 56] [G. E. 57] [G. E. 58] [G. E. 59] [G. E. 60] [Golden Era Cassettes] [CDs For Sale] [Music Sheets (A-B) For Sale] [Sheet Music Books] [Querico Publications] [Videos For Sale] [DVDs For Sale] [Golden Era DVD Collection] [Golden Era Videos For Sale] [Los Maestros] [Annotations Book] [Americana For Sale] [Accessories For Sale] [Services 2003] [Links 2003] [How & Why of Languages]